top of page



In 1955, the wines of Saint-Émilion in the wine-growing region of Bordeaux were classified. Unlike the Bordeaux Wine Official Classification of 1855 covering wines from the Medoc and Graves regions, the Saint-Émilion list is updated every 10 years or so. Following the initial classification, the list was updated in 1069, 1986, 1996, 2006, and 2012. However the 2006 classification was declared invalid following a series of legal actions, and the 1006 version of the classification has been reinstated for the vintages from 2006 to 2009.

The region's Syndicat Viticole started planning for a classification of St.-Émilion wine in 1930, but it was not until October 7, 1954 that the principles behind the classification became official when the INAO agreed to take responsibility for handling the classification. The first list of classified St.-Émilion estates was published on June 16, 1955, and was amended on August 7 and October 18, 1958. The original list contained 12 Premier grands crus classés and 63 Grands crus classés. 

Premier Grand Cru Classé (A)

Château Angélus    |    Château Ausone    |    Château Cheval Blanc    |    Château Pavie

Premier Grand Cru Classé (B)

Château Beauséjour (Duffau-Lagarrosse)   |   Château Beau-Séjour Bécot     
Château Bélair-Monange   |   Château Canon   |   Château Canon-la-Gaffelière        

Château Figeac   |   Clos Fourtet   |   Château La Gaffelière    |   Château Larcis Ducasse

La Mondotte   |   Château Pavie-Macquin   |   Château Troplong Mondot  

Château Trotte Vieille   |   Château Valandraud

Grand Cru Classé

Château Balestard la Tonnelle   |   Château Barde-Haut   |   Château Bellefont-Belcier

Château Bellevue   |   Château Berliquet   |   Château Cadet Bon   |   Château Cap de Mourlin

Château Chauvin   |   Château Clos de Sarpe   |   Château Corbin   |   Château Côte de Baleau

Château Dassault   |   Château Destieux   |   Château de Ferrand   |   Château de Pressac

Château Faugères   |   Château Faurie de Souchard   |   Château Fleur-Cardinale

Château Fombrauge   |   Château Fonplégade   |   Château Fonroque   |   Château Franc Mayne

Château Grand Corbin-Despagne   |   Château Grand Corbin   |   Château Grand Mayne

Château Grand Pontet   |   Château Guadet   |   Château Haut Sarpe   |   Château Jean Faure

Château Laniote   |   Château Larmande   |   Château Laroque   |   Château Laroze

Château la Clotte   |   Château la Commanderie   |   Château la Couspaude

Château la Dominique   |   Château la Fleur Morange   |   Château la Madelaine

Château la Marzelle   |   Château la Serre   |   Château la Tour Figeac   |   Château le Chatelet

Château le Prieuré   |   Château les Grandes Murailles   |   Château l'Arrosée

Château Monbousquet   |   Château Moulin du Cadet   |   Château Pavie-Decesse

Château Peby Faugères   |   Château Petit Faurie de Soutard   |   Château Quinault l'Enclos

Château Ripeau   |   Château Rochebelle   |   Château Saint Georges (Côte Pavie)

Château Sansonnet   |   Château Soutard   |   Château Tertre Daugay   |   Château Villemaurine

Château Yon Figeac   |   Clos Saint-Martin   |   Clos de l'Oratoire   |   Clos des Jacobins

Couvent des Jacobins

Former Cru Classé

Château Corbin Michotte   |   Château La Tour du Pin Figeac (Giraud-Bélivier)   

Château La Tour du Pin Figeac (Moueix)

bottom of page